Anticipated Reads · Book review · Books · Reviews · Uncategorized · Youngadult

[Review] Heartless by Marissa Meyer | Why is a Raven like a writing-desk?

18584855

Title: Heartless
Author: Marissa Meyer
Page count: 453 pages
Publisher: Feiwel & Friends
Released date: November 8 2016
Genre: Young Adult Fantasy
Series / anthology / stand alone: Standalone
Rating:
bigbigbigbigbig

20adf4_df1db29699fc459a8480746d5e7c0908 Goodreads synopsis 20adf4_df1db29699fc459a8480746d5e7c0908

Catherine may be one of the most desired girls in Wonderland and a favorite of the unmarried King, but her interests lie elsewhere. A talented baker, she wants to open a shop and create delectable pastries. But for her mother, such a goal is unthinkable for a woman who could be a queen.

At a royal ball where Cath is expected to receive the King’s marriage proposal, she meets handsome and mysterious Jest. For the first time, she feels the pull of true attraction. At the risk of offending the King and infuriating her parents, she and Jest enter into a secret courtship.

Cath is determined to choose her own destiny. But in a land thriving with magic, madness, and monsters, fate has other plans.

20adf4_df1db29699fc459a8480746d5e7c0908 My thoughts 20adf4_df1db29699fc459a8480746d5e7c0908

I love Alice in Wonderland so much and this book gave me the most epic and twisted story of the Queen of Hearts. I just can’t believe what’s happening to the Queen and I am so troubled how she become the cruel and evil Queen. But this story made me complete and I want to the author for bringing my childhood back even though the story is all about the Queen of Hearts.

 You all know the story and I’m just going through my feeling about this book so much. I really love how Marissa Meyer put the love story and the twist how she become the queen. I imagine the hardship she’s been through a lot of her travel and my heart melted with her feelings and love for what she’s doing before she’s been a queen. I gone mad with her decisions and I know it’s her choice, if I could just dive in to the book and tell her to leave all behind, she and Jest will live forever. Of course, forever and promises are like stones in this book but who knows that they’re going to be apart. Characters are well blended especially to Jest, the White Rabbit, Cheshire cat and Mad Hatter. I really love those characters and they’ve been part of this journey in my heart. My favorite is, of course, Jest, he’s so ready to give up everything for Cath and he knows what true love mean is and I just can’t believe what the author did to him. It’s really heart breaking, I will gone mad like Cath if I’m in her position too.

 Overall, so intense, so lovely but yet heartbreaking. I can’t stop thinking about Cath’s story and every time I see the book, it pains me more than ever. This is unforgettable read! I can’t say anymore and I don’t want to spoil everyone. I just love everything in this book and this is the very first book that I read from Marissa Meyer. I might read all her books after this wonderful retelling!

20adf4_df1db29699fc459a8480746d5e7c0908 About the Marissa Meyer 20adf4_df1db29699fc459a8480746d5e7c0908

4684322

Marissa Meyer is the #1 New York Times-bestselling author of Heartless and The Lunar Chronicles. She lives in Tacoma, Washington, with her husband and twin daughters. She’s a fan of most things geeky (Sailor Moon, Firefly, any occasion that requires a costume), and has been in love with fairy tales since she was a child. She may or may not be a cyborg.

 

20adf4_df1db29699fc459a8480746d5e7c090820adf4_df1db29699fc459a8480746d5e7c090820adf4_df1db29699fc459a8480746d5e7c0908

Thank you so much for viewing!

fot

Leave a Reply

