Book review · Books · Reviews · Youngadult

[Review] This Savage Song by Victoria Schwab | Monsters Monsters MONTERS!!

23299512.jpgTitle: This Savage Song
Author: Victoria Schwab
Page count: 464 pages
Publisher: Chronicles Books
Released date: July 5 2016
Series / anthology / stand alone: Series
Rating:
bigbigbig

Got my copy via Netgalley for an exchange of honest review! Thank you Chronicle Books!

20adf4_df1db29699fc459a8480746d5e7c0908 Goodreads synopsis 20adf4_df1db29699fc459a8480746d5e7c0908

There’s no such thing as safe in a city at war, a city overrun with monsters. In this dark urban fantasy from author Victoria Schwab, a young woman and a young man must choose whether to become heroes or villains—and friends or enemies—with the future of their home at stake. The first of two books.

Kate Harker and August Flynn are the heirs to a divided city—a city where the violence has begun to breed actual monsters. All Kate wants is to be as ruthless as her father, who lets the monsters roam free and makes the humans pay for his protection. All August wants is to be human, as good-hearted as his own father, to play a bigger role in protecting the innocent—but he’s one of the monsters. One who can steal a soul with a simple strain of music. When the chance arises to keep an eye on Kate, who’s just been kicked out of her sixth boarding school and returned home, August jumps at it. But Kate discovers August’s secret, and after a failed assassination attempt the pair must flee for their lives.

20adf4_df1db29699fc459a8480746d5e7c0908 My thoughts 20adf4_df1db29699fc459a8480746d5e7c0908

I found this book pretty confusing but really intriguing in the story line! There some points in this story that I didn’t follow so I got really confuse and will probably re-read the first book before the release of Our Dark Duet.

I feel like the monster are crawling between in my mind and skin while reading this book. This is my very first book by Victoria Schawb and it didn’t disappoint me. Just confused in some points but everything sounds cool! I like how the story goes along between the humans and monsters, it is really catching and one of the most intriguing story. The book give me this scary feeling and making me not put the book down easily. It’s like when you put it down, you will absolutely miss everything on it!

The action of the story is really fast paced which is I really love it. It doesn’t bore me, totally fills me in quickly on whatever questions running into my mind while reading this beauty. Most part that I love is that knowing August monstrous killing just using an instrument which makes it unique more about the story. And for Kate, the baddest girl I know from all the books I read. She’s been really pain in the ass but everyone knows what she can do and capable of, so I love her too.

Overall, damn, even though it’s confusing, I would love to continue reading this duology! I really can’t wait for the second book to be release and re-read again the first book! This book gives me the chills of monsters.

20adf4_df1db29699fc459a8480746d5e7c0908 About the Author 20adf4_df1db29699fc459a8480746d5e7c0908

3099544.jpg

Victoria is the product of a British mother, a Beverly Hills father, and a southern upbringing. Because of this, she has been known to say “tom-ah-toes,” “like,” and “y’all.”
She also tells stories.
She loves fairy tales, and folklore, and stories that make her wonder if the world is really as it seems.

 

20adf4_df1db29699fc459a8480746d5e7c090820adf4_df1db29699fc459a8480746d5e7c090820adf4_df1db29699fc459a8480746d5e7c0908

Thank you so much for viewing!

okay2

2 thoughts on “[Review] This Savage Song by Victoria Schwab | Monsters Monsters MONTERS!!

  1. I’m glad you still want to continue with this despite finding it confusing. Shwab is one to take time building her world and it gets clearer as the story unfolds. If you want to read her other works though, check out the Shades of Magic Series.

    Like

Leave a Reply

