arc review · Book review · Reviews · Youngadult

[ARC Review] You’re Welcome, Universe by Whitney Gardner

Title: You’re Welcome, universe
Author: Whitney Gardner
Publisher: Knopf Books for Young Readers (Random House Children’s)
Release date: March 7 2017
Rating:
bigbigbig

Got my copy via Netgalley for an exchange of honest review! Thank you Random House Children’s!

 

20adf4_df1db29699fc459a8480746d5e7c0908 My thoughts 20adf4_df1db29699fc459a8480746d5e7c0908

Man, this book is good but I got a little confusing while I’m reading it. But rather than that, this is a great story and it inspired me a lot. I haven’t read anything like graffiti with a badass girl and deaf.

The story goes with a deaf teenager Julia who have been expelled from her previous school because of vandalism and her friend like bailed her and didn’t protect her from causing it. When she got to her new school, she have an interpreter to help everyone to understand what she’s saying or signing. When she start graffiti and she didn’t expect that there is someone also do graffiti and starting messing her works. She ready herself in a graffiti war.

I really like the story! I mean, everything in it is good! I like how the author portray a deaf girl trying to fit in her in everyone and in something she’s good at. I like Julia as a badass and as an artist also, she doesn’t care to anyone as long as nothing steps in her way. She’s been driven to do more on her arts, even to her art class which totally inspires me. I love her drawings in the book as well! It looks realistic in some way and I love every graffiti or drawing that is made to this book ❤

A little bad side for me is that there some things I really can’t understand. Like she’s signing or what really happens to next part. It’s kind of hard for me to continue or to focus on a certain happening because I really feel like its fast (?) I finished the story and I love how it ends. This is a good book!

Leave a Reply

