arc review · Book review · Reviews · Youngadult

[ARC Review] The Bone Witch by Rin Chupeco

Title: The Bone Witch
Author: Rin Chupeco
Publisher: Sourcebooks Fire
Release date: March 7 2017
Rating:
bigbigbig

Got my copy via Netgalley for an exchange of honest review! Thank you Sourcebooks FIRE!

 

20adf4_df1db29699fc459a8480746d5e7c0908 My thoughts 20adf4_df1db29699fc459a8480746d5e7c0908

The book did too much talks rather than actions. I was expecting more on battles but it’s too talkative for me. It keeps explaining more about what is an Asha and being an Asha and be a Bone Witch, I already get some points why but I feel it like it’s keep repeating. Less actions, nothing really happens, it gets me fed so quickly but I really did try to finish this book that I might see any improvement. There is ONE battle story, but THAT’S IT! *Sigh* Last thing is it confuses me between the present and the past (Is it?). There are parts that is connected to the story but there are some parts that it isn’t, like I really didn’t get the connection between. I really can’t imagine the world that it’s building here because the more I read, the more I got confused and the more I got fed up.

It didn’t give me an attention about the romance for Tea and I really feel bad also because I got more connection to her sisters which I love when she’s learning stuffs. The most parts I love is where she totally driven herself to know more about an Asha and about being a Bone Witch. The trials she’s been to, the battle she’s in, I mean, she is really great and built to be a Dark Asha I can totally see in her the eagerness to learn. Characters are great, as she describe every one of them are really intriguing and I’m really looking forward to see them again on book two, especially Fox!

I really did try to finish it and try to understand it but it got me boring. I don’t want to say that it is a waste of time because I really got interested reading this but I am going to wait for the book two and I will look forward of reading the series.

6 thoughts on “[ARC Review] The Bone Witch by Rin Chupeco

  1. I don’t know if this helps but there’s what the author said on goodreads: “The Bone Witch is made up of two intertwined stories, so to speak. One takes place in the present, where a bard recounts his experiences with an exiled asha he meets on a lonely beach of skulls. The second takes place in the past, where the same asha tells of her rise within the ranks of the gilded community of spellbinders who takes her in to be trained. But there is more to her than she first appears, and the unsuspecting bard might soon play a far bigger role in her story than even he realizes.” hope it helps! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

