arc review · Book review · Books · Reviews · Youngadult

[ARC Review] The Sky Between You and Me by Catherine Alene

Title: The Sky Between You and Me
Author: Catherine Alene
Publisher: Sourcebooks Fire
Release date: February 1 2017
Rating: DNF

Got my copy via Netgalley for an exchange of honest review! Thank you Sourcebooks!

 

20adf4_df1db29699fc459a8480746d5e7c0908 My thoughts 20adf4_df1db29699fc459a8480746d5e7c0908

I see good review about this book. It has a lot of great ratings, the synopsis is great too! So I get my copy because I’m really excited to read this. But I feel bad and pretty disappointed when I started it. I’m almost like 80% and I got totally fed up reading it. I’m really sorry.

First, it’s really hard to read and there are some points that I didn’t understand. I love reading poetry style of writing but this book, I really can’t get it properly. I got fed up on 30% and I’m just trying to finish the book but I can’t. Second, the story, since it’s really hard to read, I can’t follow the sequence of it and what’s happening to the POV itself. And lastly, as I said earlier the synopsis is great, it is a great concept to have that story but it drove me crazy over not understanding feeling lost mostly to the story.

I understand Rae’s condition in her mental illness. The story of her is there, the emotions and her struggles are intact to the story and I much love reading mental illnesses books like this one. This is not the first time I read poetry books, I actually like reading poetry but it’s just didn’t click me more often to read this more.

One thought on “[ARC Review] The Sky Between You and Me by Catherine Alene

Leave a Reply

