Book review · Books · Reviews · Youngadult

[Review] More Happy Than Not by Adam Silvera

Title: More Happy Than Not
Author: Adam Silvera
Publisher: Soho Press
Release date: June 2, 2015
Rating:
bigbigbigbigbig

20adf4_df1db29699fc459a8480746d5e7c0908 My thoughts 20adf4_df1db29699fc459a8480746d5e7c0908

This is my second time to read LGBT stories, the first one was Becky’s Simon vs Homo Sapiens Agenda, which is a really good story. Now, this book, brought me mixed emotions, worry and crying wash me over throughout the story. I practically enjoy the company of these kids even though one of them having hard times to be happy.

I can’t say anything bad for the story. I mean, it is perfectly written by Adam SIlvera, and the message that he’s telling to the readers are totally getting it on hand. It’s about handling situation how good will you handle to say what you really are and stop pretending to be that person. It simply teaching us how to be yourself and you don’t need an institution like Leteo for you to forget things, but of course, Aaron thinks that’s the only way but somehow he will realize sooner or later that forgetting will be the hardest part and it’s too late when he realizes that he’s already forgetting things.

Characters are well blended in the story, it really feels like it happens in real life. I love every one of them except Me-Crazy (I really didn’t like him). All of them are trying to be with Aaron, handling him, helping him and be the best for him. I love Genevive and Thomas, they’re trying to reach him even though he’s pushing them away and I can’t help but to feel the burden that they have. And also his family, Eric and his mom, just amazingly how they could get back together again.

Overall, I love it. I’m totally regret that I didn’t pick this up quickly in my shelf. Knowing this kind of stories, mental illnesses, makes me realize how important living is. But through this book, it gives me mixed emotions, especially on the scenes where Aaron confuses what he really is because he’s step by step knowing what he really is. This is one inspiring story and I can’t say any negative about this book. It totally got my heart and mind and I can’t wait to read more of his works in the future.

Leave a Reply

